Inhaler Earn Place In BBC Sound of 2020 Shortlist

We’re less than a week into 2020 and Inhaler are already celebrating. Yesterday, the Dublin four-piece claimed the #5 spot on the BBC Sound of 2020 shortlist after a successful breakthrough last year. Up against the likes of Celeste, YUNGBLUD and beabadoobee, only the fourth and fifth placements have been announced so far (#4 going to neo-soul songstress Joy Crookes), with the remaining three due to be confirmed every day until 9th January.
Frontman Eli Hewson told the BBC “We started two or three years ago just as kids in a school band doing covers and that sort of thing. I don’t think any of us knew what we wanted to do after school. The band was something we always enjoyed, so we decided to go for it this year and it’s really worked out well.”

The group, made up of Hewson (vocals/rhythm guitar), Josh Jenkinson (lead guitar), Robert Keating (bass) and Ryan McMahon (drums), released their debut hazy post-punk singles throughout 2019, including the notable ‘Honest Face’ and ‘It Won’t Always Be Like This’. Inspired by Britpop and the Madchester scene, they contrast nostalgic rock n roll with contemporary psych to encapsulate a new form of modern day throwback. They’ve gone on to support Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds in the summer, then recently made their US debut with Blossoms, all while selling out their UK tours to show they’ve truly learnt from the best.
Previous artists to feature on the BBC Sound shortlist include Billie Eilish, Lewis Capaldi and Chvrches, while Adele, Ellie Goulding and Sam Smith have also claimed the number one spot. Keep a look out to see who else will take the top three spots!